snapshots of an idle mind

September 19, 2007

blue glow

Filed under: blogging,fasting,hockey,internet,life,nerddom,random,seasonal,tv — sassinak @ 11:28 am

.

so something very strange is happening.

first a little background, those of you who know me well know that i wrestle with a fairly serious television addiction. you also know that i’m winning because i have so much more to do in my day to day life and thus the tv has been fading.

then i moved into this place and i decided not to get cable.

and then i caved because i wanted to see what happened on gilmore girls at the end and i got cable to do it with. in fact it took less than a week without cable for me to cave. so then i have cable and i watch all my shows to the end of the season and i take a look at the summer season and i get set for reduced viewing.

and i don’t turn the thing on once. wait that’s a lie, i’ve used my playstation and i’ve watched a couple of movies. but television? nothing.

i also haven’t watched any of the several gigs of shows that i downloaded so i could catch myself up on them. okay one episode of oth but that’s it. it’s like my television addiction has disappeared!

of course that’s easy to say when the new television season is still several weeks away and there’s no hoopla about what’s happening on what show but really? i cannot seem to make myself care.

not a whit.

and then i wonder why i would want to MAKE myself care about a passive activity? so i’m in the mood to read and write and see more of my friends and climb and play with the internet? what’s wrong with that?

but house? whatever will happen to him if i don’t watch every week???

the horror!

.

i started this post a while ago, like a few weeks ago before the new television season started and then i let it percolate.

perk

perk perk

perk perk perk

it still seemed to be true, i confess to a few pangs. i mean really now, what will the girls of grey’s anatomy do without me? how will house cope without his ducklings? and oh lord men in trees! gosh i love men in trees (actually i think i might tape those three and no more) and really, i must see what happens to them.

and yet? all the other things that were on my list? the shows i cared ever so much about? the ones i would call my friends and say “THE HORRORS! my vcr failed and i missed an EPISODE!! help MEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!”

yeah, don’t care in the slightest.

just don’t.

and i don’t understand it.

i went over to miss valium’s (hrm can you call a princess miss?) house last night and we watched the pilot of ‘gossip girl’ and the finale of big brother 8 (which was also the first episode that i’d seen) and ate pizza and gossiped about life.

it was lovely.

and you know what? the damn show is excellent (gossip girl.) i mean i was really surprised by how much i enjoyed it and yet? i don’t care. i don’t care enough to devote twenty two of my hours over the next eight months to it. i just don’t.

if i’m bored and it’s on? i’ll watch it. otherwise? whatever.

i will tape the three things mentioned above and i will watch the pilot of bionic woman because really now, starbuck as the evil bionic woman? that’s awesome that is.

i will also watch the final season of battlestar galactica because come on, that show is amazing. but i don’t want to pick up any new shows, i want to watch my loved ones until they’re cancelled and then wave good-bye to my television addiction forever.

and i can’t help noticing how much i’ve changed. except it’s not really a change it’s more of a return.

i was the only person that i knew when i was in college that didn’t have a television. didn’t have and didn’t miss. in fact i didn’t start making appointments with my television until i moved to vancouver and a little show called ‘er’ caught my attention followed shortly thereafter by buffy the vampire slayer and la femme nikita.

god those were great.

anyway over the years the addiction has grown and finally, after my car accident, it grew some serious teeth. in fact? i think i was watching something like sixty hours of television a week at some point. heck i was watching a DAILY TALK SHOW!!!!

yeah i know.

anyway, it’s been waning over the years and seems finally to be back in the box so to speak. it’s so funny where life takes us, i never would have expected to watch sixty hours a week of television nor would i ever have believed that i might stop basically cold turkey.

but i have.

.

sometimes you’re forced to read the writing on the wall… even after you’ve taken off your glasses and scrinched up your eyes.

sucks don’t it?

.

oh yeah…

i get to go to a leafs game a leafs game a leafs game

i get to go to a leafs game

and i’m super happy about it!

:)

maybe even TWO!

14 Comments »

  1. good for you.

    many weekends, i have to be sure i don’t turn the TV on during the day because it’s too easy to get sucked in and never get off the couch. so it’s best to not even tempt myself…

    Comment by terry — September 19, 2007 @ 7:19 pm | Reply

  2. I’m happy you’re happy about cutting back on your TV. It’s obviously something you’re very proud of. You seem to be looking for some cheerleading as you dial back on the dial, and I’m happy to wave my pom-poms of support and serve as the host when emergencies arise.

    But there’s one thing, and I think I may have said this before, but I feel compelled to repeat myself, just in case: There’s nothing wrong with television. It’s not the devil. Or heroin. Or something to be ashamed of. Many people find that watching TV, even the more mindless kinds of programs, is an excellent way to relax from a busy day or an enjoyable way to spend time with friends and family. Hey– you can even meet people because of TV. Like us.

    Television isn’t ruining our lives unless we let it. It’s a lot less destructive and/or expensive than some of the alternative methods of winding down at the end of the day. Plus, it’s arguable that TV is actually experiencing a bit of a renaissance– there’s quite a bit of good programming out there.

    I’m all for doing what you wish, but as a fan of TV (who doesn’t have an addiction), I feel as if my passtime– which is excellent for someone with no money and no car– isn’t a bad thing that needs to be overcome. It doesn’t make me lazy or passive or any less intelligent or engaged in the world around me. If you have an addiction, then you should do something, but you were never addicted, Sass. You just found activities you enjoy more. Which is bound to happen when people with limited time have multiple interests. That’s awesome, we all need to have our outlets, whatever they may be. But don’t diss the old hobby- some people still enjoy it.

    Comment by princessvalium — September 20, 2007 @ 1:14 am | Reply

  3. terry: thanks, it feels better to me.

    oh one of my favourite ways to spend a sunday involves lying on the couch with the tapes of the week and popcorn and never moving. that’s why i’ll still tape a couple of shows. i can’t give up my favourite cold sunday activity right?
    .

    PV: that’s the one thing i didn’t like about this post, it sounds like i feel superior to people who watch tv and that’s the one thing i don’t mean. i feel better for MYSELF because i didn’t think that my level of tv habit was healthy.. but it’s like a lot of things i love, sometimes you need a break from a habit to find out if you even like it.

    it will be interesting to see how i feel in a month or two and i admit this is a LOT easier to do with the magic bittorrent since i know i can get anything i really want off the net in an overnight…. :)

    but, just to be clear, i totally agree with you. there IS nothing wrong with television and i will never say so. but for me it got way way out of hand and it’s sort of been hrm… bothering me since then. but damn i can’t ever mind my tv addiction it got me you after all.

    i have to agree with the renaissance, the programming is really really improving in the last few years. but though you love tv i don’t think you ever had quite the issues with it that i did. nor did i until it ballooned after the accident… and as you know that’s true of a few things in my life. it’s also true that i have found things i like more and that tv is losing the scheduling wars… but i’ve been in full on crisis mode over missed episodes repeatedly too.

    anyway i don’t want to diss it, i don’t… but i’m still glad for ME that i’m watching it less… but never all the way stopped, what else to do on a cold and snowy sunday right?

    Comment by sassinak — September 20, 2007 @ 2:40 am | Reply

  4. Yeah, thanks for capturing what I was awkwardly trying to say in my comment. I totally get where you’re coming from, but how to say it without sending off a rabid ex-smoker vibe? I totally understand.

    And I’ll report back on whether Survivor: China has any redeemable qualities.

    Comment by princessvalium — September 20, 2007 @ 8:42 am | Reply

  5. I hardly ever watch TV. Part of the reason is that I have such a crazy schedule that I really don’t have time for it. But I don’t really miss it much, either, because honestly there isn’t much out there that interests me. I don’t care for any of the “reality” shows that seem to dominate the air waves, and well, let’s just say I’m not the target demographic for Gilmore Girls or Grey’s Anatomy…

    Every once in awhile I get wind of a show that someone or several people tell me that I HAVE to watch, so I’ll wait until it comes out on DVD and rent the season. So, I’ll admit that there is some good programming out there. But most of it is on pay channels I don’t have (like Weeds, Sopranos, Big Love, etc), so I would end up renting those shows anyway. That’s ok, I actually prefer it that way so I can watch them all back to back on my own time instead of having to dedicate a certain time on a certain day to watch a show and then wait weeks or sometimes months until the next one. With my schedule, it’s just easier.

    Oh and Bittorrent rules. Especially if you are a music addict, which I will fully admit to being.

    Comment by John — September 20, 2007 @ 10:07 am | Reply

  6. Great work Sass,

    Kicking a great T.V. show is harder than kicking a cigarette addiction. When oh when will Lost Season III be out on DVD? I need to gorge.

    Comment by Adam Eating — September 20, 2007 @ 11:56 am | Reply

  7. I cut way back on my TV a few years back. I just decided that when a show I liked ended, I was not going to watch whatever replaced it. A nice easy way to get out of the viewing habit.

    Of course, it doesn’t hurt that the quality of American television sucks so bad right now that there’s barely anything worth watching. In what sort of ‘reality’ do you put 40 kids alone in a town? Major suck!

    I was watching House for a while, too. Hell, I’d probably watch Hugh Laurie if he was just standing around reading a phone book. But I got to a dozen or so shows recorded that I didn’t have time to watch, and I let him go, too.

    My big weakness now is BBC America. I love Robin Hood, and we’re enjoying the hell out of the new Dr. Who.

    Outside of that the only regular watching I do is the Daily Show, but that’s in bed at night. Hell, I got nothing better to do then, anyhow.

    I do, however, try not to miss a Steeler’s game.

    yeharr

    Comment by balloon pirate — September 20, 2007 @ 12:59 pm | Reply

  8. PV: thanks, it will be a hard show to give up because i find the political machinations to be so ridiculously entertaining but still, i sorta feel like i’ve been there and done that with that show…

    and i’m glad you know what i meant.
    .

    john: there is some really amazing television being made these days actually but you are correct, anything that’s really good comes out on dvd or is available nearly instantly on bittorrent so the days of appointment television are definetely dying.

    mmmm weeds, that show is hilarious.

    i don’t actually watch live tv regardless, i tape things and then watch them when i’m bored on a lazy sunday afternoon.
    .

    adam: thanks sir.

    it helps that most of the great tv shows that i watched are cancelled actually. it’s a lot easier to give something up that isn’t there anymore. (dude, bittorrent, screw waiting for the dvds!)
    .

    pirate: yeah i’ve been doing that too except for things like battlestar which i picked up at the rabid mention of many people i like and respect. and they were right.

    there is a lot of great television on these days actually, it’s just that i don’t care to pick it up. there is still a lot of cheese but there’s also some really well written dramas out there.

    house… yeah, that whole thing with the getting arrested last year really didn’t help the show at all, i nearly dropped it then and i’ll probably drop it now once i see how they resolve the season finale.

    new dr. who is awesome, i desperately need to rent it!

    i feel similarly about leafs games but not quite so connected. i like to watch about 20 a year…

    Comment by sassinak — September 21, 2007 @ 11:08 am | Reply

  9. i would die without jon stewart and stephen colbert. DIE.

    and damn them, they take up so much of my week.

    Comment by terry — September 21, 2007 @ 3:52 pm | Reply

  10. I think it’s similar to the remark you made about calories, only applied to your time. You don’t want to waste it on something you don’t really like.

    yeharr

    Comment by balloon pirate — September 21, 2007 @ 6:35 pm | Reply

  11. I rarely watch TV. I waste all of my time on the Internet.
    Who needs TV, when you’ve got youtube?

    Comment by Clarity — September 21, 2007 @ 11:39 pm | Reply

  12. I understand the addiction although I am not an addict. There are so few shows that catch my eye anymore. There are probably a few really great ones that I have missed just due to lack of caring (Battlestar Gallactica for one). It just seems to me that if a show appeals to me, it is doomed to be canceled (see Firefly). Yet with the serious lack of caring I have for most tv shows, I have Dish Network with a number of HD channels. Maybe I am more of a technology addict than anything else.

    Comment by Jon — September 23, 2007 @ 1:07 pm | Reply

  13. terry: yes, that’s how i used to feel about approximately 20 hours a week of television. would that it had been only one show (albeit a daily one…)

    yeah i hear that… if i’m to tape heroes i have to set the vcr today and it seems to be not happening, sort of amazing.
    .

    pirate: yeah that’s true, but i used to LOVE it so it’s weird to get all like indifferent to it.
    .

    clarity: fortunately youtube doesn’t work on my variant of unix … and for some reason it seems unwise to fix it :)
    .

    jon: rent battlestar, it’s more fun in a big gorge anyway. that said, you may want to stop at the end of season two…

    i have basic cable so i can watch the hockey… i thought it was so i could watch a lot of shows but it turns out i’m keeping it for the hockey. weird i know. i have been poor for such a long time that i’m basically over my tech addiction though i did buy another ‘need for speed’ last night for my ps2…

    Comment by sassinak — September 24, 2007 @ 2:17 pm | Reply

  14. I would like to see a continuation of the topic

    Comment by Maximus — December 20, 2007 @ 1:23 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

