snapshots of an idle mind

January 21, 2009

sweet sadness

Filed under: anxiety,bitter pills,bliss,cars,driving,engines,grief,life,random,surreal — sassinak @ 3:17 pm

.

well, it’s official, i have a new car.

okay not entirely official as i don’t take delivery until this afternoon but you know what i mean.  it’s paid for (with some help) and the plates are off my old car and sitting in the windshield/back window.

i may have driven my old honda for the last time and i’m abjectly sad about it.

i understand that i will love my new car just as much and that i will be just as broken hearted when my mechanic says “it’s time, your car is dead” but that isn’t any consolation to me now.

there are a few reasons i’m unhappy about this transition, not the least of which is that i expected to get another five years about of my perfectly tuned, corners like a bmw, gets phenomenal mileage accord.  expected in vain because the body rotted out from under me with very little warning.

in fact i’m a little bit pissed off at my mechanic for not making me understand what was happening.  why was i fixing a rotten car?  why wasn’t i made to understand 3-5 years ago that i needed to spend some money on the body?

how was this a SURPRISE?

.

there is something so *wrong* about throwing out something so perfectly tuned.  i know the body is rotten but the engine has another 200,000km in it EASY.

ah well, i think i found a guy who is going to find a solid body and use my parts to build a car… so at least he’s getting something out of it.

.

so here i am all broken hearted right?

all sad about the passing of this beautiful machine…

and yet?

and yet there’s a little joy here.

i’m getting my very first NEW car!

not new to me, NEW.

as in no one but me has ever driven it (okay, on and off the truck and the broker is driving it to my house but you know what i’m saying) and i have to break in the engine.

as in i get to be the only person who cares for this car and i will know implicitly every bolt that gets changed and fluid that gets dirty and if it dies it will be entirely my responsibility.

it will be *mine* from the day it got sold until the day i sell it or my mechanic looks at me mournfully and says “it’s time, get a new car.”

and that’s cool right?

i should be excited to own my very first new car and i am… i mean i’m totally stoked and i am fully aware that i will fall madly in love with it in time… it’s just i’m having a hard time getting past the senseless waste of it’s predecessor.

.

oh you wanna know what i got?

2008.5 mazda 3 sedan, five speed with no air… cause i like don’t like the air and the power anything…

i do like the ipod plug though… kind of an improvement over the tape deck

.

in other news, what is with these idiots who get high performance cars in an automatic?

or worse, with a manual transmission and NO IDEA how to WORK IT???

.

only thing worse?

porsche sport utility vehicle…

i mean really, isn’t that an oxymoron?

.

oh wow oh wow oh wow

my car is almost here and the plates are off my accord…

god i’m sad for my accord.

man i’m excited about my very first new car…

wow wow wow.

.

and for those of you who know how much i love old things?

yes, i really did basically buy the new car version of the old car i’m throwing out….

.

anyone wanna buy a really good engine?

3 Comments »

  1. i actually cried when it was time to say goodbye to my dear departed honda civic, which was my first car. it was dying, and it was time, but it had served me well and i had so many fond memories of that car.

    and the odd thing is, when the people at the dealership where i was getting my new car were moving the honda to the back of the lot, they couldn’t get the car to turn off. keys were out, engine wouldn’t stop running. that had never happened to me, ever, in the ten years i’d owned it. and that made me feel even worse, as though it didn’t want to go to car heaven!

    i’m such a dork that this still makes me sad…!

    Comment by terry — January 21, 2009 @ 11:04 pm | Reply

  2. I love bouncing here occasionally for a dose of Sass and this little ditty is delicious. Nice to see you’re still you. I’m surprised that car of yours gave up the ghost.

    Cheers,

    Comment by Py — January 30, 2009 @ 2:33 am | Reply

  3. terry: i still haven’t found a home for my old parts. have to make some phone calls but somehow leaving it parked downstairs is so much easier…

    wow, that is weird, it’s like the poor auld thing couldn’t admit it was dead. mine can’t comprehend it’s deadness since it still runs like the proverbial top.

    not a dork, i feel the ‘zact same way.
    .

    py: mechanic failed to apprise me of the body situation in time for me to deal with it.

    so angry i bought anything but a honda in retaliation. damn car has five more years in the engine!

    Comment by sassinak — February 2, 2009 @ 3:51 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

